Three Cougars Named To NJCAA Division III District C Team

Three Cougars Named To NJCAA Division III District C Team

Beeville, Tx-   For the first time in Coastal Bend College baseball history, three Cougars have been named to the NJCAA Division III All-District C Team.

CBC Closer,  Trent Sholders appeared in 20 games, pitching a total of 20.1 innings on the season. Sholders recorded 27 strikeouts and notched 14t Saves for the year. The Angelton native posted a 2.21 ERA and was also named National Pitcher of the Week in early May as he helped secure the school's first Region XIV Conference Championship. 

First Baseman,  Kyle McShaffry  played in 56 games for the Cougars, collecting 64 hits, 18 Doubles, one Triple and three Home Runs. McShaffry also knocked in 38 RBI's a team high while averaging .344 at the dish with .411 On Base Percentage.

Catcher,  Ronnie Bailey Jr saw the field in 50 games for CBC this season, recording 32 hits and seven Doubles and four Home Runs. Bailey Jr also hit 24 RBI's while averaging .256 in the batter's box and posted a .422 On Base Percentage for the Cougars.

By being named to the NJCAA Division II District C Team, each student athlete will now be eligible for All-American honors.

Below is the rest of the All-District C Team for the 2019 season.

All-District C Team 2019


Rank Name  School Position Yr.
1                    Rueben Alcala Brookhaven INF SO.
2                        Eric Owen Tyler INF SO.
3                       Tyler Stacy North Lake RHP SO.
4 Trent Sholders Coastal Bend RHP SO.
5                           Michael Spinozzi Tyler RHP SO.
6                           Billy Rogers Cedar Valley OF SO.
7 Kyle McShaffry Coastal Bend INF SO.
8                           Heath Hood Tyler OF FR.
9                          Dillon Eatmon North Lake INF SO.
10                        Cody Windisch Richland OF SO.
11                         Ronnie Bailey Jr. Coastal Bend C FR.
DH                       Jose Castillo Cedar Valley DH FR.